Breaking News: Earthquake in Montana

So I woke up this morning and was reading through my Facebook news feed when I saw this. Wait. What? We had an earthquake?!!

NPR

I confronted Frank when he came home from his hike. “Yeah, we did. It woke me up and a couple seconds later I looked over by you. There was another tremor and the bed moved. You almost rolled off! But you never woke up. I got up to see if we should go outside but then the tremors stopped.”

What?!!! Was he messing with me?

shakesSeattle

I guess not! Even John Mayer felt it!

MayerQuote

I asked Frank what it felt like. He said it wasn’t a shake, like what he has experienced before. Could it really have made our bed move?

Jon Fox, forecaster for the National Weather Service in Spokane, said he was at home and felt the earthquake waves moving his house.

“It was like being in a boat,” he said of the ground waves.

After the initial quake were numerous aftershocks listed as magnitude 4.9, 4.5, 3.9 and 4.4, all hitting between 12:35 a.m. and 1:30 a.m., according to the USGS.

People from across Montana reported feeling the earthquake, from Bozeman and the Gallatin Valley, to Helena, Missoula, Kalispell and Whitefish, as well as east to Billings and north into Alberta, Canada.

So I guess Frank wasn’t kidding. So this one one of the biggest earthquakes to hit Montana in many years. And we were here to experience it. Well, at least one of us experienced it. 😊

 

3 thoughts on “Breaking News: Earthquake in Montana

Leave a Reply

